KLAS RNAV (GPS) 19L/R ARR proceedure question

Bill Kirkland

• Members
    • View Profile
KLAS RNAV (GPS) 19L/R ARR proceedure question
« on: July 21, 2017, 07:16:10 AM »
I have a question regarding what to expect if utilizing a procedural hold as shown for example on the approach plate for KLAS RNAV 19L.

I am fairly new to understanding procedural turns/holds, etc. and would like to understand what I should do in the event I am cleared for the approach by ATC.

Looking at the approach plate for RNAV 19L, if I am coming in from the South, I'm not sure if I would cross the LAS VOR, follow 018deg. Radial to HAMIG maintaining 6300ft, then conduct the published hold, and follow the remaining fixes to get me to 19L?  Or would I proceed direct to HAMIG (without crossing LAS), follow the published hold, then remaining fixes to 19L?

I'm sure ATC would vector me close to the approach, however if I hear "approved for the RNAV 19L app", I'm wondering specifically which navaid I should enter the approach at.  - this is of course assuming I am coming from the South and not utilizing either IAP points (LAPIN or SUVIE).

Thanks in advance!

Bill Kirkland

Jeremy Peterson

• Members
    • View Profile
Re: KLAS RNAV (GPS) 19L/R ARR proceedure question
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2017, 08:39:20 AM »
Ok correct me if I'm wrong but this is how I understand RNAV approaches:

When under ATC, if the intercept angle between the final approach course (depicted on the chart) and the course at which ATC instructs you to intercept is less than or equal to 90 degrees,
the aircraft must be instructed to conduct a straight-in approach.
(FAAO 7110.65W 4-8-1 Approach Clearance Procedures, Para e)

If you would be intercepting the final approach course at an angle greater than 90 degrees, you (as the pilot) are
allowed to execute the hold-in-lieu of procedure turn.
(FAAO 7110.65W 4-8-1 Approach Clearance Procedures, Fig 4-8-4 )